View the Leadership Council Forum


The Leadership Council is the elected voice of the EarthCube community, setting the strategic direction for EarthCube and making decisions critical to its success, with input from the community and in consultation with NSF.

~Key Documents~
Several individual document links can be found to the right under "Group Specific Links"

Current Leadership Council Members

Emma Aronson
Science Committee
University of California, Riverside
June 2018 - May 2020

Dave Fulker
Technology and Architecture Committee Representative
September 2019 - May 2020

Mike Daniels
Member, At-Large
Colorado State University
June 2018 - May 2020

Maša Prodanović
Member, At-Large
University of Texas at Austin
September 2019 - May 2021

Steve Diggs
Council of Data Facilities
Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD
July 2018 - June 2020

Jed Brown
Member, At-Large
University of Colorado, Boulder
​September 2019 - May 2021
Ryan Gooch
Engagement Team Representative
Colorado State University
June 2018 - May 2020
Ken Rubin
University of Hawai'i, Manoa
June 2018 - May 2020
Denise Hills
Liaison Team Representative
Geological Survey of Alabama
​June 2019 - May 2021

Christine Kirkpatrick, "ex officio"
Principle Investigator, EarthCube Community Office
San Diego Supercomputer Center
​October 2019 - June 2022

Isabel Cruz
Member, At-Large
University of Illinois
​June 2019 - May 2021



The Leadership Council is elected voice of the EarthCube Community, setting the strategic direction for EarthCube and making decisions critical to the success of EarthCube. The Leadership Council will conduct its business at the EarthCube All Hands Meeting, another face-to-face meeting, and a minimum of one virtual meeting in each of the remaining ten calendar months. It is anticipated that most Leadership Council decisions will be achieved through dialogue and consensus. Except where other wise specified, if a vote is called, a two-thirds majority of all LeadershipCouncil voting members is required to approve the measure.

Mindful of the potential for either expansion or contraction as circumstances dictate, the nucleus of the Leadership Council comprises ten elected, voting members: the Chair; one representative each from the Council for Data Facilities, the Science Standing Committee, the Technology and Architecture Standing Committee, the Engagement Team and the Liaison Team; and four at-large members, representative of the constituencies of the National Science Foundation Directorate for Geosciences. The EarthCube Office Principal Investigator, or their designated representative, serves as a non-voting member of the Leadership Council, as does the newly-elected Leadership Council Chair. The preceding Chair and a representative from the National Science Foundation may also participate as non-voting members of the Leadership Council.

To fulfill this role, the Leadership Council will:

  • Ensure consistency and transparency in policies, procedures, and decision-making, including providing multiple ways for people to participate in the process of making decisions, and communicating outcomes of decisions to the broad EarthCube community.
  • Enable communication between governance organizational units to close gaps, eliminate duplication, and build synergies.
  • Establish and manage Standing Committees and Working Groups as needed to perform critical functions.
  • Foster business models to sustain and maintain the infrastructure of EarthCube.
  • Establish, facilitate, and maintain policies and procedures.
  • Provide for public dispute resolution and proactive management of risk and conflicts of interest.
  • Act as the single point of communication for coordinating with and making recommendations to the NSF and other funding agencies on behalf of EarthCube.